The LLHF would like to congratulate its 2017 Distinguished Research Scientists who received the following awards:

The Lawrence A. Smookler Award in Diabetes

Jonatan Matalonga Borrel, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow, Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute

LLHF Fellowship Grant Project Title: “In Vivo Induction of Replacement Beta-cells in Non-vital Tissues”

The John S. Spice Award in Aging

Vivek Swarup, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow, University of California, Los Angeles

LLHF Fellowship Grant Project Title: “Identification of Regulators Driving Neurodegeneration in Frontotemporal Dementia”